### Meeting Minutes

Southeastern Association of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads (SECEDHA) Annual Meeting

November 11-12, 2010 - Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

## LIST OF ATTENDIES.

Name School Email  Zhihua Qu Univ. of Central Florida QU@MAIL. UCF. E  ASHOK IYER Virginia Commonwealth Univ AIYER@VCU.ED  Miroslav Bogovic Georgia Tech mb50@wail.gatech  Eddre Jacobs Univ. of Memphis eljacobs@memphis.edo  Nick Younan Mississippi state younan@ece.mistate.e  Mark Nelms Anburn. nelmsrm@auburn.	
ASHOK. IYER Virginia Commonwealth UNIV A IYER @ VCU. ED Miroslav Bogovic Georgia Tech mb50@wail.gatech Eddre Jacobs Univ. of Memphis eljacobs@memphis.edo NICK YOUNAN MISSISSIPP, State Younan@ece.mistate.e	F. ET
Miroslav Bogovic Gergia Tech mb50@wail.gatech Eddre Jacobs Univ. of Memphis eljacobs@memphis.edo Nick Younan Mississippi state younan@ece.mistate.e	
Eddre Jacobs Univ. of Memphis eljacobs@memphis.edo Nick Younan Mississippi state younan@ece.mistate.e	
Mick Younan Mississippi state younan@ece.mistate.e	edu
Mark Nelms Auburn nelmsrm@auburn.	re.eol
The state of the s	rn, ec
Scott Midkiff Virginia Tech midkiff@ ut.edu	,
Dan Fleetwood Vanderbilt Univ. Jan. Fleetwood@ vanderbilt.ed	lt.edu
John Harris Florida HARRIS@ECE, UFL,	=L, Ei
Shawa Addington Virginia Military Institute addingtonis @vmi.edu  Dan Stancil NC State addingtonis @vmi.edu  ddstancil @ncsu.edu	.edu
Tim Wilson Emby R- Emby. Riddle wilsonti@erau.edu	generaliser of the second
	, son, e
John Kelly NCALT State U jck@ncat.edu	
JOHN PEERLES The Citabel peeplesj@citabel.edv	
Larry Holloway Univ. Kentusky holloway@engr.vky	/
John VENTURA Christian Brothen Thin joenture course	
IAN FAROSON UNE CHARLOTTS PANTEUNCE. DOLY	by
Gary May Georgia Tech gary, may @eee. gate uh. ed	1.edu
Gary May Georgia Tech gary, may@ece.gatech.ed Paul Devgan Tenn-Slale UL sdevgan e tostate.edu	

# Southeastern Association of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads (SECEDHA) Annual Meeting November 11-12, 2010 -Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center

#### Thursday Evening (11/11/10)

[Reception in Conference Break Station, followed by dinner in Conference Five]

6:00 Welcome Reception and then dinner

6:30 SCEEE Membership Meeting – Paul Devgan, Tennessee State

7:00 An Embedded Systems Curriculum Based on the IEEE/ACM Model Curriculum

Ken Ricks, Associate Professor Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Alabama IEEE -2009 Best Education Society Paper Awardee

8:00 SCEEE Board of Directors Meeting - Paul Devgan, Tennessee State

Friday (11/12/10): Room: Conference Room Four

8:00 -8:45 Future Electrical Energy Systems: Technology and Society

Mariesa Crow, Ph.D., P.E., FIEEE Director, Energy Research & Development Center

F. Finley Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering Missouri University of Science & Technology

8:45 -9:30 Systems Engineering Curricula: Mark Nelms, Auburn (chair)

<u>Paul Devgan</u>, Tennessee State, Tim Wilson, Embry-Riddle

9:30 -9:50 Break

9:50-10:40 Strengths in Energy and Power: Ian Ferguson, UNC - Charlotte (chair)

John Gowdy, Clemson Gary May, Georgia Tech

Larry Holloway, University of Kentucky

10:40-11:30 ABET Feedback from Visited Programs: Larry Holloway, University of Kentucky (chair),

Eddie Jacobs, University of Memphis,

Shawn Addington, VMI Mark Nelms, Auburn

Other possibilities; Southern, NC State, UNC, Tenn. State

11:30-1:00 PM Lunch, Conference Dining Room: Private Dining Room 1

1:00 -2:00 SECEDHA Roundtable: Zhihua Qu , UCF - Inter-departmental appointments

Others – to be selected based on attendees and particular topics.

Candidate topics include Budget Reduction Impacts/Accommodations, PhD candidate pay policies, EE perception when recruiting

2:00 -2:30 Business Meeting/Survey: John Peeples, The Citadel

#### Feedback from ABET programs visited:

Based on the Fall 2010 visit, two issues were discussed. First, standards and constraints should be incorporated into senior design projects. The second issue was related to criterion 2 – Program Educational Objectives. From the ABET criteria – "Program educational objectives are broad statements that describe career and professional accomplishments that the program is preparing graduates to achieve." It is important that the objectives be based on accomplishments and not abilities.

#### SECEDHA Roundtable Discussion

The nominating committee, consisting of John Peeples, Larry Holloway, and Mark Nelms, nominated Ian Ferguson for secretary of SECEDHA. No other nominations were received. Ian was elected as the incoming SECEDHA secretary.

Interdepartmental appointments were discussed next. Departmental faculty may wish to have a joint appointment with another department. Faculty in computer engineering often would like a joint appointment in a computer science department and vice-versa. In many cases, researchers associated with a research center would like to have a joint appointment with an academic unit, because tenure is associated with academic units and not institutes or centers. Some questions were raised during the discussion: 1) can a faculty member dissolve a joint appointment between a department and a center, 2) is there any additional benefit for a joint appointment, and 3) how are the expenditures "counted" by the administration?

The following topics were suggested for the November 2011 meeting:

Integrating smart grid concepts into courses
Recruiting/diversity/workforce issues
Best practices in teaching electric circuits
Instructional pedagogy
STEM issues
Enrollment issues
Engineering economics and project management
ABET soft skills
Claiming energy as EE