SOUTHEASTERN CENTER FOR ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING EDUCATION (SCEEE)

Zhihua Qu, Secretary c/o Department of ECE University of Central Florida 4000 Central Florida Blvd. Orlando, FL 32816 (407) 823-5976 qu@ucf.edu

January 15, 2020

Dear SCEEE Member:

The annual meeting of the members of SCEEE was held on Thursday, October 31th, 2019 at the Residence Inn, 850 Prices Fork Road, adjacent to the Virginia Tech campus. Please find enclosed a copy of the minutes from this meeting. Also enclosed is an updated list of SCEEE Board of Directors and members present.

The SCEEE Board of Directors held their annual meeting, right after the SCEEE members meeting, at the same location on Thursday evening. Mark Nelms, the Chairman of SCEEE, plans to update SCEEE members on Board's activity within the next several weeks.

Invoices for the 2020 SCEEE membership dues are also enclosed. Please be on the lookout for the RFP for the research initiation program supported by the SCEEE Development Fund and remember two eligibility conditions (please see the board meeting minutes for more details):

- Institutional eligibility: only current tenure-track faculty from dues paying institutions are eligible to apply for research initiation grants
- Startup eligibility: any current tenure-track faculty member who has not received a federal grant of \$100K or more is eligible
- Submission requirement: must follow the proposal guidelines and also be in a single PDF file

Please mail to me your 2020 SCEEE membership dues along with the enclosed invoice. Research proposals from schools whose dues are not paid by April 1, 2020 will not be considered for research initiation grants.

Thank you very much for your participation.

Sincerely,

Zhihua Qu Secretary, SCEEE Board of Directors

Enclosures

SOUTHEASTERN CENTER FOR ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING EDUCATION (SCEEE)

ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING 850 Prices Fork Road, Blacksburg, VA 24060 (adjacent to the Virginia Tech campus)

Mark Nelms, Chairman of SCEEE, called the 2019 SCEEE Annual Members' meeting to order at 7:40pm right after the SECEDHA reception, dinner and invited talk. He briefly explained the history of SCEEE and the availability of research initiation grants for tenure track faculty at the Assistant Professor level during their startup years.

Zhihua Qu, secretary of SCEEE, provided the following updates about the finances of SCEEE:

- (1) SCEEE Federal Form 990 reported the following for December 31, 2018:
 - Woodrow W. Everett, Jr., SCEEE Development Fund has a balance of \$1,274,239.25 at the end of 2018, and its 2018 earnings totaled \$99,926.64.
 - SCEEE Founders Fund Balance was \$560,082.18. 2018 earnings totaled \$46,794.80.
- (2) The SCEEE Directors elected to use the \$110,000 available for 2019 SCEEE Development Fund grants for 4 awards of approximately \$27,500 each. The amount available for grants in 2020 is \$112,000.
- (3) SCEEE membership funds have a balance of \$72,266.80, as of September 26, 2019.

The following motion passed as a recommendation to the Trustees of the SCEEE Founders Fund:

• The SCEEE Founders Fund covers infrastructure support costs. Annual commitments for SCEEE infrastructure costs in 2020 are:

\$8000 GAR Bldg., St. Cloud, Statutory/Admin

\$24,000 SSC, Admin costs & Trustee Support

\$1,800 Statutory filings

\$6,500 SCEEE Secretary Support (increased by \$1,000)

\$6,500 SCEEE Eval Committee, Chair Support (increased by \$1,000)

\$4,500 Trustees Partial Expenses (3 @ \$1,500)

\$51,300 Total

The motion was approved unanimously upon a motion by Hulya Kirkici and seconded by Luke Lester.

SCEEE has funded 75 proposals by seventy-five faculty members for \$1,367,930 over the past twenty-four years. \$112,000 is available from the 2019 earnings of SCEEE Development Fund to support research initiation grants, and the earnings from the Founders Funds to support infrastructure costs. A recommendation to the Board of Directors is to use the \$112,000 available for grants in 2020 to make 4 awards (of \$28K each) through proposal competition, with the motion made by Dan Noneaker and seconded by Hulya Kirkici. The motion was unanimously approved.

There were 31 members present at this meeting (see the list enclosed). The minutes of the 2018 SCEEE Annual Members' meeting were mailed to members on January 15, 2019 and were also circulated to members present. These minutes were approved unanimously upon a motion by Tim Wilson and seconded by Luke Lester.

Zhihua informed the attendees that the terms of three SCEEE board members, Woodrow Everett, Tim Haskew, and Daniel D. Stancil will expire at the end of 2019. Nominations were entertained, and the

following new board members were elected/reelected by a motion by Hulya Kirkici and seconded by Luke Lester.

- Woodrow Everett (2020-2022)
- Dan Stancil (2020-2020)
- Chris Ferekides (2020-2022)
- Abdullah Eroglu (2020-2022)
- Fred Beyette (2020-2022)
- Jerry Trahan (2020-2022)
- Nikolaos Sidiropoulos (2020-2022)

The meeting ended at 8:15pm. Minutes were taken by Mark and Zhihua.

The new list of SCEEE Board of Directors along with their "term end" dates is shown below: The list of SCEEE members attending the meeting is also attached.

Term Ends	Director	<u>Affiliation</u>	
2020	Daniel Noneaker	Clemson University	
2020	Luke Lester	Virginia Polytech and State University	
2020	Timothy Wilson	Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University	
2020	Daniel D. Stancil	North Carolina State University	
2021	Michael Johnson	University of Kentucky	
2021	Mark Nelms	Auburn University	
2021	Hulya Kirkici	University of South Alabama	
2021	Zhihua Qu	University of Central Florida	
2022	Woodrow Everett	SCEEE Chairman Emeritus	
2022	Chris Ferekides	University of South Florida	
2022	Abdullah Eroglu	North Carolina A&T University	
2022	Fred Beyette	University of Georgia	
2022	Jerry Trahan	Louisiana State University	
2022	Nikolaos Sidiropoulos	University of Virginia	

LIST OF ATTENDEES

2019 SCEEE ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING

First Name	Last Name	Institution	Email
Shawn	Addington	Virginia Military Institute	addingtonjs@vmi.edu
Philip	Bernhard	Florida Tech	pbernhar@cs.fit.edu
Fred	Beyette	University of Georgia	Fred.Beyette@uga.edu
Shekhar	Bhansali	Florida International University	sbhansa@fiu.edu
Krishnendu	Chakrabarty	Duke University	dk246@duke.edu
Gustavo	Chaparro	Florida International University	gchaparr@fiu.edu
Roger	Dougal	University of South Carolina	dougal@cec.sc.edu
Ahmed	Eltom	University of Tennessee Chattanooga	ahmed-eltom@utc.edu
Abdullah	Eroglu	NC A&T University	aeroglu@ncat.edu
Chris	Ferekides	University of South Florida	ferekide@usf.edu
James	Fowler	Mississippi State University	fowler@ece.msstate.edu
Oscar	Gonzalez	Old Dominion University	ogonzale@odu.edu
Ravi	Gorur	University of Alabama – Huntsville	ravi.gorur@uah.edu
John	Harris	University of Florida	harris@ece.ufl.edu
Michael	Johnson	University of Kentucky	mike.johnson@uky.edu
		University of Tennessee Chattanooga	abdelrahman-
Abdelrahman	Karrar		karrar@utc.edu
Mohamed	Khabou	University of West Florida	mkhabou@uwf.edu
Hulya	Kirkici	University of South Alabama	hkirkici@southalabama.edu
Luke	Lester	Virginia Tech	Iflester@vt.edu
Allen	MacKenzie	Tennessee Tech	amackenzie@tntech.edu
Frederic	McKenzie	Old Dominion University	fdmckenz@odu.edu
Mark	Nelms	Auburn University	nelmsrm@auburn.edu
Daniel	Noneaker	Clemson University	dnoneak@clemson.edu
Greg	Peterson	University of Tennessee	gdp@utk.edu
Zhihua	Qu	University of Central Florida	qu@ucf.edu
Nikolaos	Sidiropoulos	University of Virginia	nikos@virginia.edu
Dan	Stancil	North Carolina State University	ddstanci@ncsu.edu
Erdem	Topsakal	Virginia Commonwealth University	etopsakal@vcu.edu
Jerry	Trahan	Louisiana State University	jtrahan@lsu.edu
Timothy	Wilson	Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University	wilsonti@erau.edu
Saleh	Zein-Sabatto	Tennessee State University	mzein@tnstate.edu